Home > Cloud Computing > What Cloud Standards Are There and Coming?

What Cloud Standards Are There and Coming?

Designing standards is like playing stocks. Timing is critical if not all. If too early, it may stifle innovation; if too late, it may never win over de facto standards.

With the popularity of cloud computing, many standard organizations have started to work on open standards from different layers and different aspects. How to find these standards or work in progress?

Time to learn how to "Google" and manage your VMware and clouds in a fast and secure


In his talk at SDForum Cloud SIG on June 22nd, DMTF president Winston Bumpus (@wjbumpus) shared a web site http://cloud-standards.org. It lists the cloud related standard organization and their works.

The organizations include:

  1. Distributed Management Task Force (DMTF)
  2. Cloud Security Alliance
  3. CloudAudit
  4. The European Telecommunications Standards Institute(ETSI)
  5. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  6. Open Grid Forum (OGF)
  7. Object Management Group (OMG)
  8. Open Cloud Consortium (OCC)
  9. Organization for the Advancement of Structured Information Standards (OASIS)
  10. Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA)
  11. The Open Group
  12. Association for Retail Technology Standards (ARTS)

According to Winston, these organizations have regular meetings and maintain their parts of the wiki pages. So you can rely on this page for what’s going on in the cloud standards.

Before you dig into any organization, I would suggest you to read the cloud standards overview. This presentation gives you a fairly good big picture.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.